A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

I agree with the statement that students should have the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Firstly because when they all have the same syllabus, that would mean there would be wide panel of qualified people who would carefully pick subjects of all streams. They would ensure that the students have every possible option of their interest whereas if every school start selecting their curriculum even before college, they might remove many subjects which might not be of their interest which is infact important for an individual to know to survive and compete with everyone.

Secondly, Exposure to all subjects before they enter college is really important because it not only help them to decide which field they have an interest in but also to have a basic idea in a stream which is not their specialization.

Thirdly because kids do not have the understanding at a younger age to know which subject do they like and which they do not. So that decision would be taken by parents, so this can totally ruin a student's career and future. It would be a problem not just for students but for their parents, they have no idea what their kids might love or might not love and if we take that opportunity away, parents would be unnecessary blamed later when they actually tried to do the best for their kids.

When I was in high school, I got an equal opportunity to study Arts, Science. So that not only helped me decide that I had a keen interest in Computers and Maths but it also allowed me to have a knowledge about the history of my nation as well as understanding the geography of not just my nation but the entire world. I had no idea that I hated History when I was young but if I had not been given any choice of subjects other than Humanties, I would have been in a really bad place when I would have to study that in college.

College helps you pick the stream that you want to when your brain has matured and you can pick decisions easily. I had difficulty in picking my specialiazation at college level and it took me good amount to time to figure our that I wanted to do my undergraduation in Information System. I cannot imagine having to decide this when I am 4-8 years old. So, I guess what I am trying to say here is that we should not try to pressurize this decision making at a younger age in selecting schools by keeping different curriculum at different schools.