Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects

of adulthood.

Education has been a hot-button issue in today's world. Especially, after the enforcement of laws like "No Child Left Behind" and "Education for All". In broad terms, a school is a place where a child learns how to tackle the real challenges of life. Real challenges like facing failure, decision making, managing stress, etc. No one in this world can give a concrete solution to such challenges, they are learned with experience throughout life. These Real-Life challenges can alternatively be named Non-Academic Aspects of Adulthood. Thus, the school is a place where an individual can be shaped to face these challenges, and hence, I totally agree with the author's claim that schools should indeed do more to prepare students for these non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Schools today focus more on the theoretical aspect of every subject. Students are forced to learn subjects like history, math, science, geography, etc. Advanced concepts like triple integration and differentiation are being added to the course curriculum having known that only a tiny fraction of students are going to use such concepts in their future(probably those who plan to get into the teaching department). Schools should include subjects that help the students gain practical exposure. Such exposures would help them explore the real world and have an idea of the most likely challenges they will be facing in the near future. This makes it clear that practical knowledge helps a student to plan and prepare for real-life challenges while theoretical knowledge helps them create a solid foundation for themself. Thus, no student should be let out of school without having basic intellectual skills but should also be exposed to the pragmatic world in their early stages of life.

Furthermore, even tech companies today tend to hire candidates with more practical knowledge and the ones who have better approaches to problem-solving. These companies require their employees to go beyond theoretical knowledge and apply real-life problem-solving skills. Famous questions raised during interviews like: How would you cope with strict deadlines? How would fit yourself into an environment where your team members have opposing viewpoints? This brings us to the next most neglected topic by schools Stress Management. As we grow up, another thing that intensifies in life is Stress. Stress management is something that schools should teach the students in their early stages of life. This would help them grow as sensible individuals and manage life tasks efficiently even in stressful situations. Having these values learned in the school itself would help them understand the perspective of life in a better way and lead a successful life as a responsible citizen.

To reiterate, no child should be allowed to leave school without a basic understanding of quants and verbal etiquettes. In addition to today's teaching techniques, school courses should adopt a 60-40 teaching ratio, where 60% consists of theoretical knowledge and the remaining segment should purely focus on practical (out-of-the-book knowledge). One such way could be the inclusion of field trips for students. Having adopted such school curriculums, the youth will be prepared to compete in the global economy and would also be able to fix some terrible issues afflicting our world.