Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

/Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged./

I strongly disagree with the author's opinion that science and technology one day solve all of the humanities problem. The evolution of the sapiens from ape to the current has been possible due to our innate curious nature and resulting desire to seek and solve problems.

To say that one day all the problems will be solved is an overweening defiance against commonsense. Every solution to a proposed problem, when applied in the real world, leaves a trail of undesirable consequence. For instance, in the 80s, polythene and other polymers were totuted as the solutions to the deforestation. Well, we in 2020 know how true that turned out. The polymers cause more harm to the environment than anybody would have anticipated back in the time. Improvement in farming methods and healthcare did indeed help solve world hunger and increase span of human life. Nevertheless, unintended consequence has been overpopulation. Thus, if closely scrutinized, any proposed solution will inevetably create a newer set of problems to be solved and the vicious cycle continues.

Humans are instiable and will always inflict misery upon themselves. Even in happy and proseprous times, human mind can find ways to want more and inflict pain upon itself. Pain and suffering are inevitable part of the human life. Philosphers of any age and century have pondered over such human nature and the relegions have been established to help people temper this self-inflicted suffering. The 'want of more' more pervasive in the current generation, with multitudes suffering from depression, fear and anxiety. As the technology progresses, there are more 'wants'; therby more people suffer from the pain of 'have not'. The science and technology progresses, due to this innate desire of humans to want more. It's very paradoxical to think that science will someday quench human 'want' , the very wheel it rides upon.

Human being needs a purpose to live. If humans stop solving problems, do we even have a purpose in this life? It has been very well documented in psychology that once a person's basic needs like food and shelter are satisfied, s/he tends to pursue self-actualization. S/he seek his purpose to feel valued. For a mother it could be to take care of her children, which is a problem statement in itself. The basest of job requires solution of certain problems. Our day to day life requires us to solve problems on a daily basis. As illustrated in the above paragraph, even if all our problems are seemingly solved, we tend to seek newer problems to justify our existence.

In conclusion, I would say; as a species it is unlikely we would ever run out of problems to solve. Many would argue eliminating problem would mean living in an utopia. In my opinion, such an utopia is only a mythical construct and would never be achieved. Hence, it is unlikely that science and technology will one day solve all of the society's problems