Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

In this age of advancing technology and breakthroughs in the scientific world, it is certain that science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society's problems.

From the beginning of the industrial revolution in Europe, science and technology have been progressing with leaps and bounds like none other. Only a hundred years ago the idea of communication was limited to letters sent through post. Now in a relatively short span of time, we have come up with modern and efficient modes of communication, beginning from the now outdated telegraph to the modern age of voice and video calls. This decrease in the gap of communication across countries, communities, and peoples has been largely helpful in dealing with a lot of problems plaguing society.

A huge issue faced by society as late as the 20th century was the mortality rate due to certain one-thought-to-be-invincible diseases like polio, smallpox, tuberculosis et cetera. The rapid progress in the field of medical sciences has made sure that these diseases are now not only preventable, like polio, but also, almost completely eradicated from society, like smallpox. Tuberculosis, although still a viable disease, is largely treatable. Society a few hundred years ago was plagued by various outbreaks, which claimed the lives of many. Now, with modern technology of detection and rapid treatment, people don't have to worry about their lives being cut short due to health issues. A society which is largely healthy will obviously make much more progress and contribute to the development of society.

Pillaging issues in developing and underdeveloped countries such as overpopulation, lack of basic education and healthcare, are all being positively countered through scientific education. Families are encouraged to engage their children in education to make them responsible citizens of society, who in their time can deal with these problems much more effectively due to the knowledge they accumulate.

Although these are clear examples of what science and technology can overcome, we can not overlook the fact that society as a whole has degraded significantly in terms of morals and ethics. Veneration, integrity, and honesty are now applauded as something uncommon, as opposed to being the norm among general people. This is something which in the long run will prove detrimental to the overall development of society because if the general people are not inspired by a robust value system, the fall of such a people is not uncertain. Also, threats we face these days, including wars among nations, are of a much more brutal and large scale. This is largely due to the fact that technology has handed over weapons of such destruction to nations, that their use will certainly ring the bells of doom for a generation, and affect successive generations. But this is a far-fetched event, one that is likely to happen because this technology has itself provided the means of acknowledging the harmful effects of such powers and has contributed to actively choosing to not put into use such powers of destruction.

Therefore, we can certainly say that through ongoing progress and continued developments in the fields of science and technology, we will one day be able to overcome and solve all of society's problems and transform ourselves into conscious and efficient people.