Should colleges force students take course on reading novel, poetry and other imaginative poetry.

Novels, poetry and imaginative poetry are an essential component of pushing a child's intellectual boundaries. Sciences and mathematics have long been considered the only staples for a student's education. However, all these subjects do is make them knowledgable and provide them the neccesities required to survive in the real world. But there is more to life than that. Life is more about taking a step further than what we think is our limit.

A student's mind is like an open meadow. They are not burdened with the hardships of life, and can think more creatively as they are allowed to make more mistakes. Novels and poetry give them a perspective on things that they dont really have a grasp on. These open a whole new hidden corner of the world to them. Fictions dont really seem impossible to them, as there young minds might not just ignore them as just stories. Heroes potrayed through novels might actually inspire them to succeed in life too. The love and respect by the protagonists in various novels and imaginative poetry can make them wish to reach the same heights too.

In the famous movie "The Dead Poets' Soceity", the character played by Robin Williams pushes his students to break the norms of private education by aspiring to do more than just what is expected of them. By forming the aforementioned soceity, they indulge in literature that can enlighten them. He teaches them to feel the emotions that the poets wanted to share. This helps them to not only earn a new perspective of life, but also respect another person's opinion. They, inadvertently, learn more about life than they could through the mundane subjects prescribed to them.

There is a famous saying that goes as "One person's imagination is another person's reality". Nothing else applies to the given statement than this thought. What might have started as imaginative literature in the artist's mind can now inspire a younger person to accomplish to achieve those mentioned heights. Removing these types of literature from the students' courses might make them a more knowledgable and efficient individual, but the big question is whether it will help them be more creative. Will a student be able to break the proverbial glass ceiling or will they choose to live a daily basic life? At the end of the day, these students are the future of the world, and if we they cannot push the boundaries, how will soceity ever progress?