The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

The memorandum from the manager states two reasons why restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will help attract more viewers and avoid losing ad revenue. These two factors, however, are limited in scope and further clarification is required on them. Moreover, it is never stated how the number of viewers or the revenue has changed over the period.

First and foremost, it is stated that most of the complaints were about the station's coverage of weather and local news. However, we do not know whether there was an increase or decrease in the number of complaints since the time the decision to prefer national news was taken. If the number of complaints has decreased then it is most likely that there is a small subset of viewers who prefer weather and local news, and meeting their demands will not help the channel become more popular and profitable.

Another reason stated is that current local businesses have cancelled their advertisement during the late-night news program. What about big businesses? What about investment new and upcoming local businesses? If it is the case that big businesses or new local businesses have started running advertisements during the news program then it is good news for the business as this may more than meet the demand of keeping a steady revenue.

No mention is made of positive feedback from viewers or the difference in the number of views from before. What if the news channel has managed to attract more viewers who love watching national news over the local counterpart? this would mean that the plan is working well and the channel may be attracting new viewers from all over the nation and this may help in increasing the news channel's demographic. Moreover, no mention is made of how the revenue has changed over the period. Is the channel even losing any revenue? What if the revenue has increased? answer to these questions is important in judging the conclusion about maintaining the revenue.

Overall, the information provided is not sufficient in aiding the conclusion and it may yet be the case that the plan is working miracles for the company. The vague and limited information about viewer complaints and local businesses pulling away do not bolster the argument as they are intended to.