Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities (e.g., organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity). Others believe that local communities are better served when professional community leaders with the necessary skills and time instead handle such projects.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Several programs and projects that are conducted by the local community, often require a great amount of funding and efforts to achieve its desired goals as well as prove beneficial for the entire community. Therefore, the major question that arises, while planning such projects is that who should take the responsibility for carrying out these programs efficiently? According to me, this major task should be assigned to the professional community leaders who have the necessary skill and time to handle such projects. Further, if possible, these professional leaders could take the help of the citizen volunteers to increase the efficacy of the project. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated due to the below-mentioned reasons and examples.

Firstly, depending upon the significance and scope of the project and its implementation, we cannot completely rely on the citizen volunteers. If the projects are on a long-term basis and require lots of time and effort, then the citizens who have other professional duties would not be able to dedicate their time and efforts to the required project. For instance, consider the projects that involve educational programs and rural development schemes that require the volunteers to go to different rural areas of the community and impart moral education to students who are poor and cannot afford basic education, or perhaps improve the existing conditions of the rural areas. Such programs would require people who can sacrifice their work and families and travel to different regions in order to help in resolving the problems faced by different people. In this case, it would be prudent to appoint a professional for handling this task, as he would have the required time and skill to carry out the entire process involved in this project efficiently.

However, in contrast to the above statement, sometimes citizen volunteers can be considered as a better option for carrying out certain projects successfully. For instance, consider a project that involves cleaning up the community parks and making them more environment friendly by planting more trees in them. If such projects involve the contribution of the citizens, then the implementation of such projects would be more effective and beneficial as the citizens would understand the importance of keeping their localities clean. Also, after the completion of the project, the citizens would be extra cautious while littering any place and would ensure the cleanliness of their surroundings. Further, the contribution of citizen volunteers could provide the necessary funding that is required for the project.

To sum up, the contribution of citizen volunteers could help in providing the necessary funding as well as their participation in this project could help them in gaining a moral lesson from any activity and thus ensuring the long-term efficacy of the project. However, whenever we are dealing with long-term projects that require a lot of time and effort, then in such cases it would be prudent to appoint a professional leader who can handle the situation well and carry out the overall implementation effectively. But, the involvement of both citizen volunteers and professional leaders can strengthen the impact of the project.