Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

One portion of the prompt urges that to be successful a leader, one has to be competitive. On the other hand another portion of it says that - without being cooperative and willing to cooperate with others a leader can not be successful. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly agree with the second portion" of the prompt and thereby am obliged to provide necessary viewpoints in defense of my position.

The definition of leader states that - a leader is he who can lead a group of individuals without devaluating its (group's) prerogatives and values. Addressing this definition - the clear characterisitics of a leader has to be able to lead a group of persons without disrespecting and devaluating their primary and cumulative motive. Now, comparing the twofolds paradigm of the leader mentioned in the prompt - it can not be of surity that if a leader is competitive and highly motivated in his pursuation will be accepted unianimously by his fellow person. He might be of high calber or highly ambitious person but without having the support of his fellow people he will not be able to successful leader. In the other hand - without possessing the same talent, and in cases - inferior comapared to the earlier one, a leader can be successful if he or she earns the respect and comity of his fellow people. And the way only to remain faithful, acceptable towards the group is to remain coopearate with his group people. For example - if a leader is pretty bossy and officious towards his employees then his people might not feel comfortable around him. They will always be in constant fear in case they are vitiated by their leader. As a result, although being capable of leading the team in a good professional way - the leader will not gain the acceptance the group, let alone be amicable and aware of their conditions. On the other hand, if the same leader remains humble and expresses his williningness to learn even from the younng of the employees and respectful towards other, he will gain the acceptance of the employees and in return they will be more cooperative towards their leader, culminating augment the productivity of the team.

Also, the fact - being competitive means to culture necessary qualities important to be successful in respective fields or to grow continously to remain alive in the competition. Supposedly, in the filed of everything it is always good to be competitive and to be able to grow. But what is necessity for a leader to run a successful team of people is to gain the acceptance, which is not dependable upon the competitiveness of the leader. For example - a leader can be highly competitive becasue of his enriched knowledge in his fields or becasue of his highly ambitious aim or becasue of his being highly motivated to take his team to the zeneith. But does that confirm his acceptance among the people of that team? Might be the case that the leader is very happy and well pursuited with his ambition but many of his followers are not feeling the same becasue of theri problems, could be personal or social or economical or anything related. Now if he is a good leader, except from being highly competitive, he will ask those followers of his about their predicament. Thus, he can gain the acceptance of those people and come closer towards those people. This will help him to learn about his fellow people - significantly important for the long term growth of the group. Without being empathetic and solely unidimensional in his aim, one can not be a leader, let alone be a good one. It is becasue there are numerous people having the same skill if not better than the respective leaders, but all of them can not gain the acceptance of their people and so could not lead their team.

Counterintuitive prospect can be that - without being competitive a leader can not also gain the lift he needed to be successful. For example - if a leader is very much friendly and amicable towards his fellow peole and that is why people under him have taken him for granted. If this happenes, then the working environment of the team might be hampered as people will start to languish and will not do their respective duties dilligently. For which the group will suffer. Being competitive - the leader will be able to discern the limit within how much he should be cooperative towards his fellow persons. He will handle the group of people more convincingly - not by hyperboel and not by excessive adulation. Withput gainning the competence and the urge to for continous growth the quality of the leader will be deadlock, in return his contribution towards his company will come to a standstill in relative future. Thay is why it is also pretty important for a leader to remain competitive, not without being cooperative though, to be successful in his respective field.

So, looking at all the viewpoints and factors mentioned above - it will always be the priority for a leader to remain cooperative with his people and also remain competitive enough to grow, but not before the fundamental of more importance - acceptance among the people of the group.