Some people believe that all results of publicly funded scientific studies should be made available to the general public free of charge. Others believe the scientific journals that publish such studies have a right to make money by charging for access to their content.

Knowledge is power. The advancement of the human society is founded on scientists making innovative and scientific discoveries and developing novel technology. Many scientific studies receive funding from the government. Therefore, they should be provided to the public free of charge to drive the progress of scientific research.

The world was devastated by the coronavirus pandemic and health professionals scrambled to find a vaccine for the pathogen. Consequently, governments poured billions into research to search for a solution to mitigate the spread of the virus and protect the health of the people. Imagine if a publicly funded study uncovered new symptoms of the coronavirus or treatments for the coronavirus, but a journal decided to hide the findings behind a paywall. The public would be outrageous over the journal’s decision to value money over public health, and such a selfish act could cause infected patients to suffer from severe illnesses or even lose their lives. Providing research results free of charge could enable scientific progress worldwide and benefit mankind, particularly during a global pandemic in which the entire world was gravely impacted.

When a government funds a study, the funding ultimately comes from taxpayers. Therefore, arguing that the research findings of a publicly funded study belong to the journal would only be half correct, because the people have supported the study and would be entitled to access the results of the study. Some people may disagree and state that since readers are using the services of the journal, they should pay to enjoy the services of the journal. However, this argument is only valid for privately funded studies because such studies require reimbursements as fundings for future research. Publicly funded studies, however, already receive their funding from the government and are not obligated to acquire more funding. Suppose that a journal charged a fee for access to publicly funded studies. Readers would in effect be paying for nothing, because the government has already paid for the study The additional fee would simply be earned by the journal and the journal’s rent-seeking behavior benefits no one except the journal.

In conclusion, accessible knowledge can benefit scientific developments and drive social growth, and it could potentially save lives during global crises. Some may argue that journal readers should pay for journal services. However, demanding that people who have paid for publicly funded studies in the form of taxation to pay again to journals would be unfair, since the studies have already been paid. Therefore, publicly funded research should be free to the public for the greater good of humanity and for equality.