"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

In the article written by Dr. Karp he claims that the conclusion made by Dr. Field regarding the children in Tertia are fallacious. Dr. Karp tells that the children in Tertia are not reared by the adults in the village but rather are reared by parents of the children. Dr. Karp comes to this conclusion based on his interaction with the children in the islands that include Tertia. But this assertion made by Dr. Karp is rife with the following assumptions.

Firstly, Dr. Karp argues that the studies of Dr. Field on the rearing of Tertian children and his observation-centered approach is Completely wrong. Dr. Karp here assumes that the Sociological and living Conditions on the island were same as 20 years ago. Perhaps, there might have been a incident in which missing of a child was linked with the culture of rearing by the village , Which has significantly impacted all the people in the village and created mistrust among them which led to children being reared more by parents. It is also possible that there have been influence from a group of new inhabitants on the island that led to this change. If any of the above examples comes out to be true, then the authors assertion about Dr. Field and his observation -centered approach weakens even though there might have been a change in the rearing of the Tertian children.

Secondly, There is not a whole lot of information about whom Dr. Karp has interviewed , The article just states that He interacted with the children on islands that include Tertia. There is a possibility that Dr. Karp did not actually interview the children of Tertian village. Even if Dr. Karp has interviewed the children of Tertian Village, It might be possible that most of the questions in Interview were something that were related to the parents of the children. If any of the above examples hold merit, Then authors study is prone to be fallacious. The conclusions made by Dr.Karp might be true, But it is not possible to evaluate that until we have some clear evidence.

Finally, The author assumes that the Interview centered approach that he followed is certain to give more accurate understanding of the rearing traditions in other island cultures as well. Perhaps, It might be possible that the people in other islands are not enthusiastic about this certain interview and they may just not allow them on the island or give some vague answers to avoid the team of Dr.Karp because they are not comfortable about their culture being known by others. There is also a possibility that some of the islands are completely isolated from the current human culture and they do not want to embrace humans. If this is the case , then the authors statement of producing accurate results on other islands is certainly weakened.

In Conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed. However, If the author can provide more evidence which supports the current argument of the author, It will be helpful to evaluate these claims which as of now stand unwarranted.