Some people believe that government officials must carry out thte will of the people they serve. others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your postion, you should address both of the views presented

The author has presented two views that are common in today's world where people in government positions with power to create change are either subjected to the will of the people or make judgement on their own will.

If we take a close look at both views, they are supposed to complement each other to some extent regardless of the contrast or similarity between the views of the people. Also, external factors such as funds, viability and sustainability also automatically force the two views to come into action. But in all, the second view still stands true because in the end, the final call is made by the officials whether it is to carry out the will of the people or not.

Let us begin by looking at a situation where the masses are presenting similar views on education policy. For instance, the people are all agitating for free primary school education for all. A government official would first of all look at the situation on ground, reason with the people's opinions, look into the status of the government coffers, look into how funding for the free education can be obtained and also look out for so many other factors before a final decision or judgement can be made. He or she cannot just succumb to the people's will like that without ensuring that the outcome of agreeing to such wills would be viable or sustainable or both.

In cases of contrasting views, the situation can get a bit more complex to pronounce judgement. The outcome of the judgement would favor some and disfavor others. Regardless, the ideal thing to do would be to listen to the different opinions of the people and then do the relevant background checks and try to look for a diplomatic solution that would try to favor everyone.

A simple example to explain it all can be seen in the family. Where the children are the people and the parents are the government officials. Many times, the children can all exclaim that they want ice cream. The parents, even if they wanted to carry out their will still need to check that the available funds are sufficient to get the ice cream. If not, their judgement would be no icecream! In this instance, the will of the people would have been carried out, but other factors affected the decision of the government officials.

Essentially, the opinions of the people should be first soughted out for before a final pronouncement can be made. It is never a must that the government officials carry them out. the will of the people. However, it is a must for the officials to base their decisions on their own judgement assuming the officials are free, fair and just.

These judgement however must be based on well informed opinions obtained from the people.