To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one

must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the

position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you

should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold

true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is often believed that major cities provide a greater outlook to extract information about the characteristics of a society. While this could be true to some extent especially when talking about a general case, it can as well be said it is not always true.

In the first instance, it should be noted that the “major” cities are actually a collection of a large group of relatively “minor” societies each have their own distinguishing characteristics. In New York city in America, it can be clearly seen that not every one of its inhabitants is white. Blacks are also inhabitants as well as Asians, French and even Russians. These differences may not be so widely clear from the onset, but the disparities in the different societies can broadly affect the characteristics we are talking about here which in turns limits the extent to agreeing or disagreeing with the statement.

In the area of Physical appearance or race which is a characteristic one could say that California is filled with white Americans as a general case, which could be true if we match the number of White Americans to Black. However, that is not entirely true as we all know as we have Hispanics, blacks and Asians also living in California. These other races can affect the results. Similarly, in terms of Language, though Lagos State, in Nigeria is predominantly filled with Yoruba people, several other languages are also common because as a big city, Lagos has evolved to become “no man’s land” due to the fact that it is home to several ethnic groups across Nigeria.

Another important characteristic to look at would be social behavior. Social behavior for the minor societies is totally different from the general societal behavior of the major cities. Japanese and Asians are strong believers in communal interactions while the core Americans strongly believe in individualism – not giving much regard to the community. If one is to go to a city like where core Americans and other races coexist, preference would definitely be given to the minor society that is more and therefore overlooking the other minor societies.

From the different examples and/or illustrations, it can be seen that important characteristics drawn from a society can only be fair and just and strictly agreed with if only that society is limited to a particular group having same cultural background and beliefs. But to extract the core characteristics from a myriad of different societies coexisting together within a defined space, then preference for the characteristics would be given to the society with the larger population. This would eventually limit the extent to which there would be an agreement to the conclusions.