Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of

courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the

best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is

based

The claim that universities should allow enforce knowledge on other courses outside the student’s major field is a brilliant one that definitely has its positives and negatives. However, the reason is not compelling enough for that claim to hold

First, let us imagine a world where everybody knows a little bit of everyone’s professional field. A world where everyone can relate with different professions on a high-level basis. The world would definitely be a better place. Engineers would be going about their day to do activities and still understand (at least the basics) of what accountants and lawyers are saying.

These diversity in knowledge would foster the development of a holistic student that would be able to contribute and make impact in any field or society he or she is found. This imaginary world exists to some extent in todays world because everyone is being taught a little about everything. This definitely agrees with the claim

However, let us not forget that, what is learnt in the university is still not sufficient in the outside world when we start working. The collection of the knowledge of a particular field gained from school and knowledge from the workplace is what makes individuals specialists in their fields. The time allowed to educate students on their major field is definitely not sufficient for them to become full specialists in that field, hence the need to go for an extra master’s degree and a doctorate degree as well. The time used to teach other courses could be used to provide more grounding information regarding the major field so that less time, and costs would be spent in acquiring extra information on that major field

Moreover, Jobs of today are generally tailored to suit specific roles, why then do we bother to teach other courses outside the scope of the field? on this basis a disagreement to some extent with the claim occurs.

Second, for one to say someone is educated, it means that that person is able to read, write and communicate his/her thoughts in a well-structured manner. To say anything otherwise, such as the response given by the author is very questionable, and quite disagreeable.

Acquiring knowledge on just one discipline has already overqualified the person to be educated by the definition given above. Acquiring knowledge on more disciplines is just extra work that can be undergone depending on individual preferences but should never be used as a criteria to judge if someone is educated or not.