Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife

Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East

Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that

are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to

the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only

difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly

less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve,

the imported western gazelle population has been virtually

eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause

of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance

must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the

eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is

needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would

weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author made a possible claim that the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve caused the virtual elimination of western gazelle. The author also spoke about the slight difference in climate change and claimed that the slight difference in rainfall between the two preserves could not cause the elimination of the western gazelle.

While the argument put forward sounds logically possible, it is also flawed due to insufficient evidence to backup the claims. For a start, the author claims the difference in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination, there is no evidence to show the sensitivity of the western gazelles to slight changes in climate. This evidence, if provided could weaken the argument if the sensitivity is very high. It could also strengthen the argument on the account of low sensitivity to changes in the climate.

Another area where the argument is flawed is the elimination due to the larger number of predators. It was stated earlier that the eastern gazelle and western gazelles are close relatives. Therefore, they would have same predators. However, the elimination was said to only affect the western gazelle. This shows that something else is causing the disappearance of the western gazelle. If there was evidence that the eastern gazelles were also vanishing even before the western gazelles came in, then such evidence would have strengthened the argument. And vice versa.

Moreover, it was said that the western gazelle was disappearing or being eliminated. There’s no evidence to suggested that they wear attacked by predators of any kind. There is no evidence to state that remains of the dead gazelles are found anywhere. This makes the argument flawed and the conclusion heavily tainted.

It was written with boldness that the difference in the climate could not affect the population of the gazelle, there is no evidence of any direct or indirect relationship with the slight change and the food that the gazelles eat. It is possible that the slight climate change has affected the quantity of food grown specific to the western gazelles.

There is also no evidence that the western gazelles survived well enough in the eastern climate in past times that would warrant the bold claim that the slight change in climate could not affect their population.

Lastly, the western gazelles along with the animals were moved on the basis of flooding at the western Palean Wildlife preserve. There’s no evidence showing that they could not survive the flood like other animals that we believe existed in the western palean wildlife. The author even specified that 100 western gazelles were moved. This figure could be out of a thousand or more gazelles. There’s no evidence detailing the total population of the western gazelles in relation to the number that was moved. Such information would greatly degrade the argument.