Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It can be concluded from the evidence that the probability of the Lithos being the original creators of the woven basket is much higher than the probability that the baskets came from the village of Palea. This argument stems from three basic claims. The first being that the only passage between the two cities is the Brim river. The second is the fact that there were no Palean boats found and the third being that evidence surrounding the basket’s origins are either from the Palean or Lithos village.

While it could be possible that the Lithos were the original makers of the basket, one could also consider the possibility that the Paleans were the originators of the distinct woven baskets on the basis that there were other ways to commute between the two villages other than the river Brim. It is possible that there is a much longer route around the river which is not yet known to the archaeologists or the existence of some unknown path somewhere which the archaeologists are not aware of. The existence of alternative routes would weaken the argument because the Paleans could have transferred their knowledge to the Lithos via communication made possible through an alternative route.

Another possibility to look out for is the existence of the river in the first place. It is given that the villages are ancient, this could mean that during the formation of the baskets, the river brim was not in existence and that rather than a river, a valley was just the only thing separating the two villages. This valley would have been the route through which the inhabitants of the villages passed to move from village to village. The archaeologists might have not found any evidence of an existing valley before the river was formed which in turn weakens the argument.

Palean boats were claimed not to be found. It could have been that there were indeed boats used to cross the river, but a disaster happened and the boats were washed away to an unknown location or sunk down to river depths not accessible to the archaeologists which could probably due to lack of sufficient resources or technological knowhow.

The argument initially started out by saying that the baskets were initially woven in Palea, however, after some more search, it is indirectly claimed to have been found in Lithos. What if their search was not thorough enough? What if the basket even originated from other villages or vicinities, but because no new archaeological evidence has been found yet, the claim of Lithos village being the originators still persists.