Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

How is violence increased in the society, is it through the media or peer group/parental influence? While some people can argue that violence is increased through what we see or hear from the media, others may stand firm that home and environment-as in the case of parent and peer group-are the major determinant of violence in children. Even though both constitutes to human's behaviour, I believe that children's behaviour is increasingly influenced by the parental role models and the children peer groups, because human's character's encapsulate what he or she sees in its environment. Things witnessed from the onset in the environment and home encapsulate what children would later develop on in the nearest future.

Consider a child that grow up in an environment where illicit behaviour is normal, irrespective of what the media present - be it good or bad - the child would grow on to believe that the behaviour is normal without viewing it as violence. Such child is strongly influenced by his immediate environment- be it peer groups or his parent influence. The media on the other hand will only augment the consequence of his foundation. The child would be prompt to be interested with stories or headlines related to what he view as normal. Why is violent rampant in an environment where they have zero access to the media? where did they inherit the bad behaviour they expresses? Surely from their parent or the people they associate with. They behave like the people of common interest or what they see their parent doing. Those behaviours become part of them even till they grow or leave the fold of the environment.

Also, since it is certain that the media comprises of good and bad, individual tends to take side, you are either inclined to the good side of the media or to the bad side. This inclination doesn't comes without root, it stems obviously from people around us, people we associate with, what we are interested in or who we take as role model. If a child take as role model a drug addict, it would appear to him naturally to always behave like the role model, he sees the role model as a perfect exampler for his behaviour, thereby longing to behave like the role model in all regards. This inclination towards the drug addict doesn't comes without foundation, if the upbringing of such child is good, there is high tendency that he wouldn't have taken a drug addict as role model. In this scenerio, the media can only help to buttress effect of the child orientation or upbringing.

Ultimately, increasing violence in an individual is strongly influenced by the children upringing from their parent and who they associate with than through the media. The media is just a means to butress the effect of the foundation-parental role model and peer group. Violence is high in a bucolic environment with little access to the media, this shows that peer group/parental role model influence the behaviour than the media. One can be inclined with either the good side or bad sides of the media based on the individual foundation.