Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Most people promote that the purpose of education is to free the mind and spirit of an individual. But the system of formal education that is practiced upon today is flawed in such a way that the students within this system are not able to rise up to their full potential. Therefore I do support the argument wholeheartedly.

Education is a right that each person deserves to have. Only a well-educated person would be able to appreciate and understand the world around us. From the very origin of the human race to the meticulous details of human anatomy, education allows us to set our mind free. But the system we have which forces students to cram up these various concepts and test their abilities on the basis of an exam which is conducted unscientifically. These actions detriment the curiosity and enthusiasm a student has for these subjects.

Many successful personalities like Steve Jobs and Albert Einstein did not complete their formal education. They believed that what they taught at schools and institutes leads to the diminution of the essence of most subjects by conceptualizing theories rather than bringing them into practical use. A graduate of the present-day education system would not be able to contribute anything to the real world with practical applications.

Also, the system that is present now forces people to take a myriad of exams to go for their graduate studies or any other form of education. The number of assignments and exams a student goes through his education life is implausible and not pragmatic. Moreover, these tests do not promote thinking out of the box, but rather the ability to cram up concepts. This tends to make students think much more mechanically than intuitively. This will ultimately lead to dormancy in the innovations that human beings produce.

As a conclusion, the formal education system today has its set of flaws that detriment the quality of education students receive. With proper revision by consulting proper educational analysts, the system must be revised to encourage the students to think pragmatically and intuitively.