The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The letter from the homeowner to a friend suggests that Adams realty is the superior real estate agency as compared to Fitch realty. The support he gives for this is that Adam’s home sales averaged around 168,000 whereas Fitch averaged at 144,000. He also added that homes listed on Adam’s sell much faster than those listed on Fitch. However, there are a few unstated assumptions that must be answered for this recommendation.

Firstly, the homeowner mentions that the average sales for Adam’s is around $168,000. He doesn’t mention the range of the prices in which the homes were sold. It could be in a set of 10 houses sold, only one house was sold at an exorbitant price while the rest 9 were cheaply priced. If this is the case, then that one house price becomes an outlier in that 10-price set which automatically offsets and increases the average. It could also be that Fitch on the other hand has been consistent in the prices at which the houses listed are sold. There are no outlying values in Fitch’s dataset to offset their average house sales. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the homeowner mentions that the house he listed on Fitch ten years back took 10 months to sell. However, he does not mention the economic conditions of the people and town ten years back. Maybe there was an inflation forcing people to spend miserly and not buy a new house. On the other hand, the homeowner is comparing a situation that was 10 years back to the current situation. He doesn’t mention the changes in the different parameters that have constituted in the house sales in the span of 10 years. If the above is true, then then argument is considerably flawed.

Lastly, what if people do want to sell their houses on Fitch but instead, they want to rent them out. Now days, renting someone’s house is also major source of income that people consider. It could be that Fitch has a platform as well that focuses on renting different houses rather than selling them. They could be receiving clients on a rental basis and if a house does not receive tenants for a considerable period of time, then Fitch decides to put the house on sale. This could also be the reason why houses on Fitch take a longer time to sell than on Adam’s. However, Fitch provides its customers with a business model where the customers can have a steady source of income on a monthly basis. If the above, is true then the argument needs to be considered again.

As of now, the argument is flawed based on the above unstated assumptions. Perhaps if the homeowner can provide a comprehensive study of the type of houses sold on Adam and Fitch and also provide a better reasoning for why the house took 4 months to be sold 10 years back and if the same is put on sale again on Fitch, how much time it will take to be sold again. After then, the argument can be then considered again.