recreational

The board of Teerbug Town has decided to add to the town budget for the upcoming year, funds to build three recreational facilities, a snowmobile trail, trail shooting and a putting green. The decision of the board is based on the questionnaire carried out by the board. The claim definitely holds some valid points, however, it is based on three unjustified assumptions that the 40% feedback represents the entire towns preference, the head of the house represents a family's preference, and that the current years preference will remain the same, of which unless sufficient evidence is provided, renders the argument unpersuasive.

Firstly, the argument is based on the assumption that the questionnaire feedback represent the entire towns preference. It is true that questionnaires are a very efficient way of obtaining feedback from the public. However, is this instance only 40% of the households provided feedback. This means that the majority of the household did not provide information on the facilities they would like. Different households have different people, and people have different preferences. There is no guarantee that the majority that didn't provide feedback have the same preferences as the ones in the results. Other people may prefer football fields or swimming pools for example. In such a case, the arguers claim, which is based on the assumption that the results represent the entire town, will be invalidated. In order to put the argument on a more sound footing, the arguer has to provide evidence, in the form of another questionnaire on the houses that did not initially provide feedback, that they have the same preferences

Secondly, the argument is based on the assumption that the head of the house has the same preference as all the people in that house. The questionnaire was answered by there head of the house. However, no data is provided on the basis of the answers. It is possible that the answers were the head of the house’ personal views and no other household member was consulted. In such a case, this argument is severely weakened because people have different preferences and so many not agree with the view of the head of their households. In order to validate the argument, the argue must show that the questionnaire feedback was based on the view of the entire household members by providing their signatures on the questionnaires.

finally, the use of the current years feedback, assumes that peoples preferences will remain the same. we know that peoples preferences change, there is no guarantee that what people like the current will not change the following year. In making a decision based on the current years preferences, the board is assuming that people will like the same things the following year, yet m it is possible that the people may want to try something new the following year like play tennis or play basketball. In order to validate the claims, the board must prove that the preferences will not change.

In conclusion, the argument is based on the assumptions that the feedback represent the towns preference, the head of the house preference represents what the entire household wants. In order to substantiate the claim, the board must provide data showing that the majority that didn't provide feedback in the questionnaire also have the same preferences and that the head of the house holds the same preferences as the entire household.