Studying foodways—what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and

consume them—is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture.

The author believes that the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture is by studying foodways-what people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare and consume them. However, I completely disagree with the statement above as the author unnecessarily narrowed the statement by saying the "best" way to know about any culture is their foodways.

There are various kinds of foods people adapted in this world and it depends upon many factors. People eat different types of foods like vegetables, sea-food, birds like chickens, crow, or other animals like cow, goat,etc. However, adapting this food style depends upon many things. For example, if some are have good farming lands and facilities then people around it consume most of vegetables in their diet, or if any area near by ocean consumes more sea-food. Therefore, we can assume little idea about the people by their geographic location and avalibilities around them, though, it doesn't provide any furthur details about their culture.

In ancient time, man used to acquire his food by hunting animals himself and prepare his food by using very limited indgredients, like vegetable oil, tree oil, tree leaves, etc, by roasting the raw meat or sometimes directly consume it. However, years by years, cooking and the methods of producing dishes have been improvised drastically. Today we know that there are tons of factories who capture there animals and some actually breed these animals and run bussiness of different kinds of meats. Today's man doesn't go out to hunt for any animal like ancient time. He can get any kind of meat from super market and cook it in microwave within hour. Addmittly we cannot conclude the most information about one's culture by just knowing how he acquires or prepare his food as people in cities have monolithic life-style.

Human has been developing and adapting technologies that make their lives easy. People tends to adapt easy and time saving techniques to cook their food. In this busy world, many people actually do not even have time to cook. In many metropolitan cities people used to eat in restaurants or order food at home. However, people doesn't eat same food daily as they got many different options.

All in all, the foodways fail to provide details to understand and get deep knowledge about any culture. However, foodways can give little bit information about their life-styles but it certainly not the best way to gain profound understanding of a culture.