the surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievement of its rules, artists or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Can the greatness of a nation indicate only by the general welfare of its people without measuring achievements in scientists and others area? On one hand, welfare of countries’ people can express their happiness. On the other hand, developments in some area especially in scientific and art realm can also indicate countries’ thrive and greatness.

General welfare can indicate a nation’s greatness because it satisfies the basic desires of the citizen both in physiological and psychological needs. For instance, it is hard to say a country filled with citizens who are threatened by starvation a great country which means the greatness of a nation needs some basic material needs like enough food and high employment rate. Only when satisfying the lower floor, some other development like self-actualization can take place through the Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. Meanwhile, psychological needs like education and art pursuing are also vital to citizens’ happiness. Education delivered to youth manifest what a country can be in the future and influence the quality of the nation in next generation. And art pursing is the natural of people to find beautiful which can greatly increase the happiness of the citizen. When the government is willing to spend money on building art museums and holding exhibitions, it usually means that this country is trying to satisfy their spirit pursuing, which is a strong indicator of nation greatness.

Scientific and artistic achievements can build the international influence of a country which can also indicate the greatness of that nation. For example, James Cameron, a great film director who used 3D technology so astonished in a movie called Avatar. In this movie, he brought the world’s audiences to an unprecedented beautiful scene. So many following movies’ directors are trying to follow his footsteps and there is no doubt that Avatar is a milestone in the history of art. Only the great artistic creation atmosphere in Cameron’s nation can bring the movie to the world which indicate the greatness of the nation. In scientific field, Yuan Longping, who produce hybrid rice which solve the famine problem in the world to a great extent. His achievement is a great progress of humankind, helping us to consider more things rather than finding food for live. There is no doubt that the fund of the government and some genius scientists the nation cultivated is a crucial apart for producing the great invention.

In sum, both general welfare of nation’s people like education and art pursuing and achievements in all the realms can show the greatness of a country. Split them apart will not find the comprehension greatness of an exact country.