Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Increment of a teacher's salary is not a trivial one. In fact, it is often been assumed that it is a complex bureaucratic process because of considering different parameters. The prompt simplifies the argument and asserts that instructors' payments should be attributed to the academic achievements of the students. In my opinion, I moderately agree with the statement that in addition to the excellence of the students academically, teachers should be paid in terms of some other aspects too. I will illustrate my position with three specific reasons.

First of all, teachers are recruited for the welfare of the students; students' academic improvement is their first responsibility. Therefore, if a teacher neglects his primary duty, he should not be promoted to the next pay scale. For instance, if a teacher spends significant amount of time gossiping with the students during the class he should never be considered an ideal teacher at all. He may come to the class to spend his working hour and students hardly can learn from him. In addition, he may force the students to do self study for all the topics of this course and castigates the students if they have some queries related to the course contents. Consequently, students are deprived of having the wisdom and do bad in the examination. Therefore, a teacher can never be considered for a higher salary or increment if he is negligent about his academic responsibilities.

However, a teacher should be assessed based on his efforts in the class too in accordance to the performance of the students. there are some other factors to consider as well. Teaching profession requires motivation and a handsome salary can motivate the teacher in improving his teaching style and thus prepare the students for the upcoming arena. Consider a math teacher who struggles day and night for the students. However, the students are not technically sound in math. Still, the teachers tries his best to inspire and teach his students how to do well in mathematics. If the students fail to value his efforts and do bad in mathematics, should the blame go to the teacher? It will be a debacle if the school authority decides to cut his salary because of the poor performance of the students. Instead, he should be properly acknowledged and motivated with a raise in his wage. If any teacher is motivated with a good amount of salary for his dedication, he will be eventually lead to the success of the students.

Moreover, a college or university teacher should be judged by his exposures to the outside world and his research contributions to the community. A university professor who is dedicated to the text book contents and prepare the students for the final examination only, can never lead his students to any fruitful outcome in the job market. He needs to introduce the students with the current trends, demands of the market and so students can prepare themselves for the outside world. In this connection, even many students do average in their academic life, they can backfire in the job field. Therefore, considering the short term effect based on academic proficiency should not be the only criterion for determining a teacher's salary, he should be paid in the context of suiting his students to the research and job field as well.

To summarize, fixing a teacher's monthly income is not a facile issue. It needs to consider a broader spectrum and lots of other issues to incorporate to justify the salary of an academic instructor.