Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance.

Teachers have a very important job because they are a model to be followed by their students with their performance. In fact, their job is more complex than teaching, which is educating. The prompt recommends that teachers should be paid based on their students’ academic performance. In my opinion, I disagree with this suggestion and argue that there are other ways to judge teachers’ performance and their salary should not be affected by that.

Firstly, teaching and learning is a very complex process that requires lots of dedication and time. Thus, a teacher should be evaluated based on performance of both sides and salary should not be affected. Different areas are populated from people that put varied efforts in education. For example, in a city where criminality and other social problems are present, teachers’ job and salary depend on many factors beside academic performance of students. Therefore, the educators are going to face additional problems with groups of population that have other than education issues, like economic or social ones. However, teachers should not work for just a paycheck, but for a great mission which is the education of new generations. The above example illustrates that education stands on more bases, other than a salary.

Further, even if we assume that getting paid based on students’ academic performance will make educators perform better, they should still be evaluated by other criteria and appreciated for their efforts. For example, a teacher that gets a thank you note on his /her cubby starts the school day performing better than other days. Research has shown that emotional reward has a greater impact on the way teachers perform. In other words, trust and respect should be dedicated to these people that work hard on educating and helping students flourish in their life. Thus, governments should dedicate more time to the qualification of educators and offer different research based methods to help them perform the best.

In conclusion, some agree that teachers need to perform and be evaluated based on students’ performance and this should not affect their salary. However, isn’t that precisely why we should appreciate them and the government evaluates their efforts and performance? If we do so, we’re likely to get the best out of them. A country that respects teachers, respects education and is more likely to develop