Technology makes lives complicated

Though technology is intent is to simplify our lives, in fact, it makes our lives more complicated. There are several ideas which support this argument and are listed below.

Firstly, since technology is easily accesible, most workplaces assume their employees are accesible all day, everyday. most 9:00 am until 5:00 pm jobs were just that - employees arrived at their workplace at 9:00 am and left their jobs at 5:00 pm. however, with the advent of devices such as smartphones, even jobs that are advertised as 9 to 5, assume that employees will be checking into their emails, answering their cell phones, and logging into online programs related to work outside of work hours. As the Director of Operations and Special Projects at a non-profit, were I worked for four years, I can speak to the expectations of senior level staff at several companies that I oversaw. senior staff would regularly call, send messages to and email their subordinates outside of work hours, expecting an immediete reply. this extends the workday for both themselves and their employees and blurs the lines between personal and work life.

Secondly, while in many ways technology can save time, such as turning on the gps while en route rather than taking time beforehand to look at a map, it may backfire and cost us time. technology is not always reliable, however, since depend on it, many people do not know what to do without it. Should the gps application stop working on an unknown route, a person would either need to pull over and ask for directions, or risk getting lost. this extends the duration of the trip and leaves the traveler flustered and frustrated.

The last reason why technology complicated our lives is because technology is always changing. while the latest laptop, or cell phone, or other gadget may promote itself as greatest one, not long after another version will come out thereby rendering the preceding model archaic. it is impossible to keep up with the newest technology, though it has become expected. Oftentime companies do not upgrade their software for older models. applications such as YouTube or Gmail need to be updated on new software in order for the application to work on a device. however, in the case of Appple or Android, if the device is arbitrarily deemed too old then they do not provide software updates, thereby limiting the use of the device to applications that do not need updates.

In conclusion, though technology aims to simplify our lives, in many ways it makes our lives more complicated.parently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.