Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

As Plato said, "Necessity is the mother of all inventions". In today's ever-evolving globe, technology has taken the centre stage as the hallmark of evolution. For every small inconvenience that we face in our daily lives, there is some gadget out there that can solve our problem and make our lives simpler.

To put it bluntly, technology has managed to increase our efficiency by many many times. From a simple process like gift wrapping to solving complex mathematical equations, machines have surpassed human efficiency in all spheres of life. A mother will take 10 mins to prepare a lunch whereas a robot can do that job in a mere 2-4 mins, leaving the mom to focus on more important tasks. Airplanes and trains have made travel so much safer and easier. From a young kid to an old aged man, anyone can use these with just a simple purchase of a ticket sitting at home. Planes offer us reduced travel time, while trains offer us increased comfort as compared to traditional buses and cars. Traveling in a car, someone going to a meeting can easily finish their work instead of wasting that crucial time driving a car.

Technology has not only helped simplify our lives but has led to major scientific breakthroughs as well. From space to medicine, humans are making progress in leaps. Diseases like Covid-19 didn't claim as many lives as they could have 10 years ago mainly due to the existence of various medical technologies which helped speed up the process of creation of preventive vaccines as well as mild medicines. The discovery of solar panels and wind turbines has managed to reduce the stress on the earth's resources as well as led to a significant reduction in pollution and global warming. Machine learning models exist all around us and help make our lives run smoothly without even giving a hint of their existence. From tube lights that switch on automatically to cars that can drive themselves, we have a long way as far as technology is concerned and it doesn't seem like it going to slow down any time soon.

There is no denying that technology doesn't have its fair share of issues. Two primary problems the world faces today are, how to prevent the misuse of technology and how to make it simpler to cater to the needs of all countries and age groups. Old people find it difficult to even operate simple 21st-century mobile phones because of the excess features that have been put on them. Ethical dilemmas in using new technology have also become a major issue. The use of biotechnology in causing mass genocides and performing illegal experiments on people and animals alike has led to a major uproar in lots of countries all across the globe.

There is a lot of complexity in how technology continues to pervade our lives. But, quite often, technology itself offers new solutions to our problems. But technology is merely a tool. So long as we are more responsible, it can be used to improve the quality of life of billions of people.