Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Human beings are some of the most social creatures on planet earth. As a part of this process exchange of ideas plays a vital role both via simple dialogue and arguments. Presenting contrasting views on a topic allows one to develop more nuanced thinking not just about the topic on hand but also increases the overall scope of understanding in that domain. Therefore I will have to disagree with the author's claim that discussing controversial topics with those who have contrasting views is not useful.

Our social fabric is entrenched in the constant feedback that we continue to receive as we go about our daily work. Further we humans tend to work on a system of core beliefs that are naturally very difficult to shake. Each individual has a system that manages to sync the two so we are able to take positive feedback without altering our core beliefs much. However, when someone does provide feedback that can alter our core belief, I believe people do tend to at least stop and look at themselves in the mirror. Although the conversation might be an uncomfortable one I think most people would be willing to introspect and change if necessary. Even animals tend to use positive and negative feedback to a lesser extent to be stable and improve,

Taking the example of scientific research which runs on constant feedback with widely different ideas on what might work and what might not. It is important in such a scenario for the scientists to discuss these contrasting ideas and their correctness so as to reach an optimal standpoint and save millions of dollars. Nevertheless, the examples of scientists adamant about their core beliefs which some had spent their entire life establishing are not absent. But this does not negate the scope for questioning the core beliefs and bringing forward new ideas.

We need not look further than our political systems are also in constant remodeling. The governing mechanism of the Roman Emperors is prominently different from that of today’s modern democracy. Although we have preserved many of its traits, nevertheless, the democracy we have today in many of the developed nations are built on this idea of discussion and debate between people of different opinions and beliefs. The very idea of a parliament or congress is to create a platform which can foster a healthy mechanism for discussion between people with divergent outlooks.

Human society is built on the mutual exchange of ideas and opinions. It is highly improbable that people will not change their opinions when questioned even if it's their core beliefs.