Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Self belief or self-confidence is always appreciated, but there is a thin layer between confidence and over-confidence. However, I agree that a final decision should be taken by an individual, yet, positive criticism and doubts can improve the ideas and restrict future problems. Author laid his thesis based on an assumptions which we can be oppose with evidences.

To counter author's assumption, we can take an example of many past autocratic rulers or leaders leading their kingdom, where nobody else was supposed to speak or criticize in any means. Yes, they also left with lasting legacy but no one remember them as a good example. Hitler, is one of them, because, of his ideas and thoughts thousands of people has to suffer and still they are suffering. Likewise, there are many other leaders who destroyed humanity thinking that their thought are right.

Criticism are always appreciated, and can be helpful in identifying anomaly. In contrast to the author's thesis, let's take another example of any product which has been designed or manufactured by an individual per his ideas, and then marketed the product. However, comments from the end user was not satisfactory, and it gets fail. Reason for the failure could be anything, but stakeholder assessment must be one of the reason. Again with this evidence, the author presumption can be challenged.

Being suspicious is another things, but still doubts are a first step towards the solution. Brain storming is an essential tool to find the pros and cons, where each people, as per their level of understanding, can give his or her views and that can be an add-on towards the success of a particular idea. Doubts and criticism are used to find the flaws in anyone's' ideas, no one is perfect, and chances of improvements are always there.