Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won't benefit their future careers.

The argument claims that undergraduate students, studying business or sciences, cannot benefit from taking humanities courses and hence should be disallowed to take them. I disagree with the author's statement as I believe that all fields of study are related and stimulate our knowledge and intelligence in different ways.

Firstly, this argument suggests that careers in business do not require knowledge of humanities. That is far from the truth. Even in the most difficult business situations, on needs domain experience that can come from studying the subject. For instance, education, social sciences are humanities subjects. Managing institutions or preparing sustainable business solutions around these fields will need an in depth understanding of the two.

Secondly, the sciences and technology are touching our lives in every way. From radiocarbon dating to using data science to understand user behaviour and consumer psychology, more and more collaborative fields are emerging with the amalgamation of technology and humanities.

Additionally, the methods of studying are very disparate and hence this stimulates both the left and right side of our brains. This is one of the biggest reasons why an undergrad degree, with the right mix, can be both eye-opening and more suited to one's identity than having a degree in only one kind.

In conclusion, that although studying humanities while pursuing an undergraduate degree in business or finance can be taxing, but the long term benefits outweigh the short term difficulties and so it is advisable that undergraduate students should do humanities courses if they want a diverse portfolio or just for fun and learning.