Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Students go to college for education, and for overall development of a student its necessary that the student get education for every aspect in life. The majoring stream should not be the limitation that holds back the student from getting that knowledge. The major objective behind going to college is not just to get a job in the field of study but rather is to educate youself in every possible way.

If a student is allowed to choose from a variety of courses, it gives him/her the option to have multiple opportunities. For example, if a student is majoring in Business is allowed to study human psychology, it will give him an opportunity to try for being a psychologist as well and it won't limit the area he can explore for making a career. So as many courses are open for a student irrespective of the field he/she is majoring in, the more options they will have to make it in a career.

Further, education is not just about making a career. It might be possible that a student want to study a subject as he/she has an interest in the subject. Majoring in a field should not be a barrier for a student that deprive that student from learning that subject. If someone wants to gain extra knowledge, college should encourage such students to take extra courses. Some may argue the use of this knowledge in the future for such students but knowledge in any form is never useless. For example, we see that many engineers like Chetan Bhagat, have emerged later as brilliant literary writers.

So to conclude, The students majoring in Business or Science should be allowed to take any courses irrespective of their major. As college education does play a pivotol part in carrer formation. But the major should not limit the areas that a student can explore or shouldn't be a barrier if a student wants to study a subject because of his/her interest.