Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from

pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed

In today’s world the students have a plethora of options in terms of study choices. Some of these fields are saturated in terms of research or future scope while the other options are upcoming and have a wide scope in future. Taking this into account it is imperative that the students make the right choice that is they choose the field in they are truly interested in albeit the one in which they are likely to succeed. Educational Institutions have a huge role to play in this regard and I am in agreement with the statement which says that educational institutions should have a responsibility to dissuade students from the taking up the fields of Study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutes not only teach students but also guide them in making the right decisions and dissuade them from taking any such steps or decisions which will affect them adversely in future so it is of utmost importance that the institutions take up some responsibility in dissuading the students from taking courses in which the student won’t succeed.

Students today are exposed to the world of social media from a very young age and when it comes to making a choice in taking up their field of study it is likely that they might be having some pre conceived notions about a particular field from social media which might be totally untrue. Here the job of educational institutions comes into play. They can guide the students by explaining to them about different fields of study and then help them in identifying their areas of interest and analyze their strength and therefore in a way silently dissuading them from taking up the field in which they are unlikely to succeed. In this manner it can ensure the success of the student as whenever a student takes up a subject which matches with his strength it alleviates his interest in that subject thereby allowing him to excel in that subject.

However over here the institute must not play a proactive role but should rather act in a passive manner. With the help of their vast library of resources at their disposal they should help the students by giving them ideas about various study field, their curriculum their pre requisites, their future career path if they take up this field then the requirements to excel int the particular field thereby giving the students a clear idea of the field and also helping him correlate it with their own interests and strength. In this way the institution can dissuade the students from taking up the fields in which they are likely to them without being overbearing but rather by acting as a silent guiding light.

However, if the students are still adamant about taking the same study field, then the institute must back down, however not before giving a clear warning to them regarding the choices they are going to make and their further implications. Here it is very important that the institute dissuades and not debars the students from taking the field of their choice as despite all there might be students who will be having the fire in their belly to excel in a field in which people think he might not be able to succeed so in such cases it is advisable that the institutes back down but not before dissuading them from doing so. Hence although the universities must take some responsibility in dissuading the students it must not be too harsh and must be flexible according to the caliber and temperament of the students.