To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

This statement argues for the importance of studying major cities to understand the important characteristics of a society. Many of us will argue that this will hold all the time and others will counter the statement. In my essay, I will highlight both the side of the statement and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

First, major cities are the backbone of a country in terms of economy, politics and social and cultural, they employ major parts of a country population and represent their country at the international level. Even in some countries, major cities are much more famous than their capital and sometimes considered to be the capital of that country, for example, many people think that Istanbul is the capital of turkey not Antara. These cities offer many insights into the characteristics of a society as they subsume people from different culture and traditions, so anyone who want to understand the important characteristics of a country can study its major cities.

However, by studying the major cities one will get the vague knowledge or understand of a society's important characteristics, although, they would find people from different cultures and tribes and ethnicity, but, these things could only provide very little insight into society. To get a good understanding of society one should visit a society's rural areas, where the people still follow the same traditions and cultures from centuries, which is hardly possible to experience in the major cities of societies, for example, In India if you visit the state of Rajasthan particularly Bikaner or Ajmer, there you will find people following the old rituals and tradition, but if you visit the capital of Rajasthan Jaipur you will find this very limited.

Secondly, all major cities originate from small villages. Though most of the original village may be renovated and rebuilt. Some smaller cities may have even been major hubs of a society. People migrate away, what they leave behind may reveal a surprising amount about a society. Philadelphia, for example, was where the constitution was written, where George Washington became the first president, and where the United States as we know it was born. It is neither the capital nor even a major city of the society (the United States) now; it is certainly a worthwhile place to visit when learning about the history and the heritage of the society.

In Sort, we can say that studying the major cities would help to understand the society’s important characteristics, but it will provide a clear picture of their culture or characteristics. In order to understand completely, one must visit the rural or the cities that are still rich in its centuries-old tradition and culture.