To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As they say that if one wants to get a gist of a place, it’s a must that they first explore their major cities. Since almost all the times, this is where life is happening, they are usually densely populated with diverse homo sapiens in terms of their dialect, profession, appearance. However, this doesn’t mean that the obscure places don’t hold any importance. In fact many a times in histories we have witnessed that the roots of many of our beliefs, cultures are from the countryside or the lesser known towns.

When we read about major historic events, especially the revolutions of the French and Russian, the underlying reasons like them being denied to communicate in their regional language, not being able to dress in their ethnic clothes, being prohibited from eating certain food items were which caused the common man to retaliate against their oppressors. All these issues are the very essence of what characterizes and distinguishes other societies. These revolts took place in the very heart of these countries i.e. the major cities. The reason we are able to get such a vivid picture of those eras was because of the extensive information procured about their age old beliefs, superstitions, popularly practiced professions, their staple diets which also would give us an idea about the landscape they lived in, since the food part of their routine diets are usually locally produced.

However this in no way implies that the other cities can be ignored. It is commonly observed that certain influences in societies come from their neighboring nations. For example, in India the English language spoken and written in all grounds is of British Origin and this is obvious because India was under Colonial rule for a very long time, during which many of their aspects those pertaining to their cultures, way of life were passed on to the Indians.

So we can conclude that even though influences on the important characteristics of societies come from major cities, they are not the only major source. To get a complete understanding of the origin of prominent aspects of a society it is a must that we study the people of the cities nearby to the major cities as well as that country’s neighboring nations.