To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Major cities of a country may have lost their cultural and societal characteristics due to modernization. Small cities or provinces may still hold the essential societal characteristics. Moreover, only the major cities cannot underline the characteristics of a diverse society. Hence, I don't agree with the author's claim.

One of India's major city, Mumbai is very different from other cities in terms of its societal characteristics. It is impossible to understand the most important characteristics of a society or a country as diverse as India, merely through the study of its major cities. Each and every city in India will unravel a new societal value. Additionally, it's the kinds of people who define the characteristics of a society. For instance, in an urban city like Bombay LGBTQIA community will find a lot of support and acceptance, but in most Indian towns and cities the community might be subjected to discrimination. Such towns may force humans to conform to the unjust societal norms. The societal characteristics in major cities of India are much varied from those of most of the country.

The people who agree with the author's claim may argue that the major cities are the most developed, and hence can underline the crucial characteristics of the society, but development and urbanization merely evolves a society's characteristics. The question is what percentage of the country is developed, if major part of the country is developed and all cities are similar then studying only the major cities may work. But to form a more cogent and cohesive understanding, one must study from a set that is representative of all the different kinds of cities.