To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In this era of globalization the number of cities and city dwelling people have been rising like never before. The prompt asserts that in order to perceive the prominent features of a society, we should take a deeper look at the major cities. I mostly agree with this statement for primarily two reasons outlined below. However, I do concede that to miss out on the rural culture altogether might provide an incomplete understanding of the society.

First of all, the major characteristics of a society are more perceptible in major cities because almost all the major economic activities are undertaken in urban areas of a country. Since the beginning of the industrialization, the industries are mainly concentrated in the cities. For example, in the Britain when the industries started to take off, most of them were located in major the city area or near the fringes of the major city area. In that case, most of the people of Britain during that time used to live in close proximity to the city area and this phenomenon has not changed a bit since then. In fact, the share of city dwellers has increased over time. Another argument can be, the administrative centers of the modern government are almost always located in cities. So, as the main bureaucratic functioning of a society almost always are undertaken in these centers, it would be irrational to try to understand a society by studying some other place than its major cities. So, as the primary concentration of people happen to be in cities because of city-centric economic activity concentration, cities are the best place to understand a society.

Secondly, the cultural and intellectual endeavors of a society are almost always very much concentrated in the cities. For example, the universities are almost always located in the cities and as they happen to be the forefront of a societies intellectual practice, in order to have a proper understanding of a society, it is much better idea to study the cities. In addition, the cultural aspects of today's societies like cinemas, theaters, concerts primarily take place in major cities and rarely somewhere else. For a cultural activities are the reflection of a society's functioning and thinking, in order to perceive the society, it is best to concentrate predominantly in the urban arena.

However, restricting the analytic focus to only urban area would be likely to give us only a partial picture of the society. For example, not all the aboriginal people are properly integrated into the cities until today. So, we might miss out on them if we only study the cities and not their societies separately. Also, to understand the nature of the agrarian societies who mostly live in rural areas, we must expand our analysis to non-urban areas; otherwise, we will lose a significant part of the society from our analysis.

In conclusion, as the lion's share of the abstract and material activities of a society is concentrated in the major urban areas, in order to comprehend the most prominent features of a society, we have to look at the major cities. But, to miss out on rural areas entirely is also an irrational thing to do and our understanding of a society would be rather blinkered in that case.