Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that understanding the past is futile to those in current positions of leadership. While there may rarely be the same condition, it is always worth looking back at the past to seek inspiration.

A knowledge of history offers insurance against sudden shocks. Incidents do not come out of the clear blue sky. To illustrate, while most of the countries in the world suffer from the outbreak of coronavirus, a small island country, Taiwan, is known for its quick reaction to the virus. Taiwan has once been hamstrung by the pandemic of SARS before. So this time, the government was cautious and managed to prevent the pandemic beforehand. Thus, Taiwan has a record of over 200 consecutive days without a locally transmitted case of the disease. The government of Taiwan has successfully controlled the virus because of understanding the past.

Further, history is a great teacher to understand the root of a culture and its people. A leader is expected to respond to the values of people if he or she aims to be a successful and equipped leader. Understanding the past gives an in-depth comprehension of the strong values of people and their thinking. For instance, when consulting firms often play the role of leading revolution in clients' organizations at any scale. Thus, without understanding the past and how it forms the value of the company, it is impossible to lead the clients to change.

Finally, the past serves as stepping stones to more significant accomplishment as it has gems of work and learning that can be leveraged to achieve more extraordinary results. "I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants" said Newton. The past experiences also are of paramount importance to researchers in the science field. With the previous experiments conducted by predecessors, scientists do not have to start everything from scratch, thus able to make breakthroughs on the basis.

"History doesn't repeat itself, but it often rhymes," as Mark Twain said. Although any kind of prediction in this volatile environment will be shot through with uncertainty, history serves as a great teacher to tell us the possible outcome in the future.