Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is an ongoing debate that it is not imperative to know about the past experiences to make the current position of leadership successful. I strongly disagree with this because history plays a very important part in our life and we can learn many good and bad experiences from past.

The one of the most important reason for this belief is that the past brings it with many lessons from which an individual can learn many things and it helps in making a human being understand the mistakes and help not to repeat these mistakes. For instance, government of various nations can learn from the World War II to maintain peace and treaty as it helps in the reduction of disasters and loss of precious lives. The other example is of Chandrayan III which can be made successful by India by learning from past mistakes. Hence, it is necessary to learn from the past to achieve success.

Although there are many topics in which there is no need of past. For example, for engineers to develop a technology and decide the future upcoming development there is no need to learn from the past as it all depends upon the present requirements. But still there are tremendous fields in which rulers require the knowledge of past events to make their decisions. To exemplify, the revolutionary leaders like to use the principles of Mahatma Gandhi and other past leaders to sanction their demands by the government.

Perhaps, the most important reason is that whenever anyone desire to bring change in the society, then the impact of change can be understood by relating them with past happenings. The change of Barter system, the war against casticism and gender and likewise many are the examples of the past events which bring changes in the world. Apart from this, leaders can stay aware and learn many things which the other leaders did wrong and that result in the loss of their leadership. To elucidate, Watergate scandal is one of the instance which lead to the abdication of leadership of President Richard Nixon. Thus, History is very important to shape the future into brighter side.

For all these reasons, I believe that past events play a very important role in the dictatorship of any person as it helps in diminishing mistakes, to approve the demands in better way and to bring change in the society for a good and prosperous future.