Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student`s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Do the universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study? The author contends so. Of course acquiring knowledge about variety of fields is a good thing, however, making compulsory for every students might go counterproductive. Hence, I strongly disagree with the author's assertion for the following reasons.

As the society contains variety of people, some are black, some are white, some are yellow, it contains variety of people with variety of interests. If one has interest in computer science, another may or may not have interest on it. Similarly, if one has interest in mathematics, and he has also interest in computer science, it is not necessarily true that another may have the same choice. If one has interest in taking the courses outside his field, in this case it is okay, but it usually not true. For example, if Ram is a student of a mathematics, and he has interest in computer science as well, when the university makes compulsory him to take computer science, for him it will be beneficial, however if there is another guy say Shyam, who is also a mathematics student, but he has not interest in computer science, if a university makes compulsory to take him the computer science course, Shyam might feel unnecessary burden upon him and eventually it may distract him.

Further, providing every student a choice would be prolific instead making it compulsory. For example, if one person has keen interest in making vehicles, then certainly, making him compulsory to take a philosophical class doesn't make sense. If a university makes him to take such course, he may eventually get bored and even can leave the university. Certainly it is not good.

In conclusion, requiring every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study, might be counterproductive.