Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

In an increasingly unpredictable world, man has little or no influence on future occurrences and thus man must be adequately prepared to tackle the issues of life as it unravels. For man to elude or overcome these happenings, there is a great need for both theoretical and practical knowledge in preparedness to decipher the indicators of these events. Also, it is worthy to note that these skills can be dispensed and acquired in universities through wide-range courses available to the students. The prompt argues that Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons which I would elucidate below. However, in some extreme cases, I do concede that students should be required to take a variety of courses outside of their field of study.

Firstly, the ability to take significant number of courses could lead to exposure beyond the confinement of an individual’s field of study. The kind of exposure and talent required in the business, political and technical world. For example, the job requirements of Fortune 500 companies and other big consulting firms explicitly demand an all-rounder graduate student for the sake of their clients across diverse fields. This can be likened to the analogy of a student who took and actively engaged in the Analytics, International Relations and Law courses in addition to his Food Technology field and a student shackled within the Food Technology field of study. Indeed, the world is in dire need of former who is obviously a fit for any circumstance. In addition, in the course of taking unrelated courses, a student performing poorly can discover and develop predilection for a new course as well as thrive immeasurably in it at the expense of the forfeiture of graduate school. Thankfully, the aim of all universities is to nurture adroit leaders. Hence, it is advisable that Universities require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Furthermore, taking on variety of courses across fields is a way to build formidable and instrumental relationships. This way there could be increased collaboration in research and innovation, sports, musicals, debates among others. For example, the first e-voting system was built through collaboration of students in the computer science field, quality assurance field and the English language field of the Lagos State University, Nigeria. Similarly, students could be more informed through interdependence and collaboration amongst students of other field of study. If students were not allowed to take unrelated courses, the university might be underutilizing its resources whilst forestalling new discovery and invention.

Admittedly, in some extreme cases, students shouldn’t be allowed to take a variety of course because it could be apprehensive for both the students’ and lecturers. Since what is worth doing at all is what doing well, one could say that students should face their field of study squarely and acquire as much knowledge other than the accumulation insurmountable workload.