We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/ or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As famously said by one of the pioneer of modern architecture, Walter Gropius “Limitation makes a creative mind inventive”, the struggle within the limitation acts as a catalyst in propelling one’s path towards discipline and success and teaches us lessons every day, whereas success, as an accomplished state has not much lessons to offer rather to offer a fruit of one’s past activities. Hence, in my opinion, it is the struggle that teaches us most valuable lessons than the enjoyment of our success.

Limitations has the tendency to create boundary while it is our human nature to be want to be free hence the struggle within the boundary is always for the betterment of ourselves. while struggling within ur boundaries we always seek to better ourselves. For e.g. if a person wants to be in the top position of the management, he will thrive to engulf the qualities essential to the position and is always willing to learn new things, however a person already in top management will be self-assured and involve themselves in enjoyment of success achieved rather than toil in the path. Some might argue that the person in top management already have feature desired by those aiming for that position but talent is never complete there is always a chance for improvement but success obscure this view.

Struggle is the path while success is the destination The path offers us hurdles, demands us dedication, makes us cautious of the dangers while once in destination we get to see the picturesque view and feel idyllic calm but has not much to teach. for instance, let us consider the Mt. Everest climbers. The climbers rarely describe the view they observed from the peak of the world but everyone has a different lesson to teach us from what they encountered in the way up the mountain. It is the pain they encounter in the path, the obscuration by the snow storm, the struggle of survival with the limited oxygen supply that makes there journey a lifetime achievement not the view they see from the top. One might argue that the struggle they face does not make them the star but the achievement they receive by being on the top. Of course, it is with no doubt that people only remembers those who reach the top but how they felt when they were on the top is rarely prioritized over what they had to go through on the journey while ascending and descending.

There might be some who argue that the way we enjoy success also teaches us very great lessons. There is a saying in my culture which roughly translates in English to “Don’t be arrogant if you triumph and don’t panic while you lose.” However, the success only gives us the way it works but struggle in the limitations awards us with many ways it does not and as said by the Thomas Alva Edison, “I didn’t fail 1000times, I learnt 999 ways that doesn’t work.”