We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations

rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Bitter or Sweet, life is full of lessons. Several ways exist in which life teaches us its lessons, but what teaches us our most valuable lessons? Numerous people argue that success leads to the discovery of valuable lessons. In contrast, the issue recommends embracing struggles to find wisdom. I mostly agree with the issue prompt and believe that pushing ourselves to the limits is the key to learning the most precious life lessons.

Success can be rewarding, and humans constantly and repeatedly seek the sweet reward and thus, will push themselves for more success and reward. Experts have found this phenomenon so effective that the they recommend rewards for favorable behavior for establishing habits. For instance, if a child gets rewarded with chocolates every time they get an A+ on a test, they want to get the reward again and again. In the case of an adult, the reward doesn’t even have to be an extrinsic factor like chocolates the success is in itself rewarding. Consequently, this pursuit of reward motivates individuals to continue to strive for excellence and consequently, leads to exploration and learning of countless valuable lessons.

However, success doesn’t always lead to motivation towards growth and learning. In fact, enjoying our successes can make us complacent and even reduce our motivation to improve. Becoming complacent leads to stagnation and smugness which seriously hinders the ability to learn. For instance, if an individual countlessly succeeds, they feel like they are the ones who know everything and might not be willing to listen to anyone else at all. To elucidate, a successful and prominent chemist once spread misinformation that organic matter can only be derived from living organisms even after younger scholars had recently proved otherwise. Had the chemist not grown so used to success, he would have stopped and wondered about the possibility that he was wrong and have been given a chance to learn and discover new facts.

Moreover, pushing our limits helps us grow as it involves stepping out of our comfort zone. We can’t learn life-changing lessons, let alone valuable lessons without ever leaving the comforts of our own homes. After all, the entire world, which is full of diverse perspectives different from ours will not come knocking at our doors to teach us valuable lessons. Instead, going out in the world, exploring, and pushing our limits will help us learn so many things that we might not have imagined before.

In conclusion, even though success can be rewarding and might encourage us to learn sometimes, it can lead to complacency and stagnancy. Instead, pushing our limits will force us to move out of our comfort zone where all the valuable lessons are waiting for us.