When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is known that both modern and antique play crucial role in our society. The development and modernization are also important in architectural aspects in order to preserve safety and health, but the historical and esthetic value of old buildings is ineffable. Therefore, I disagree with the given statement that modern development should precede the conservation of historic buildings.

Old buildings should be preserved when they have historical value. This is extremely important for local residents’ culture maintenance. When we have a historical building preserved we can arrange scholar visits in order to teach local children about their own city history. It is much better to see personally something rather than just in a book photograph. Furthermore, usually these old buildings or other constructions have sentimental values because there are part of peoples’ and families’ own history. For example, in my city the mayor would like to demolish a historic square in order to construct a new road. However, due to the historical value for our city, since this square was there since our colonization time, and sentimental value, since a lot of families’ histories happened there, local residents refute this proposal. And hopefully, Portugal Square remains enchanting our citizens.

The conservation of historical buildings is also accounts for tourism proposes. The esthetic beauty of old buildings is unique and correspond to the era their come from. It is pure history and art classes outside for everybody appreciate and learn without being into a museum. For instance, the Europe is one of the most visited tourism route, and it is mainly due to the high historical value of its places, buildings, churches, squares and monuments. All of them count about their people history and culture.

On the other hand, the only exception for my disagreement would be if this building renovation or even demolish is necessary to guarantee peoples’ safety. When no care or reform is done during many years is expected that some structures deteriorate and then some approach is necessary. For example, a historic old building in my city that used to be a beautiful hotel was abandoned for long years and now the only solution is to demolish because all its structure is compromised. In this case a modern development could be done in order to enhance the local commerce and tourism.

To sum up, I disagree that modern development should precede the conservation of old buildings, since old buildings value are uncountable. They are important to preserve culture, history and enhance economical aspects of a region.