Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

To begin with, language is most obvious and clear tool of communication.A multilingual person would feel more relaxed while travelling abroad, he would have a CV rendering a great impact on recruiters and would be more knowledgeable as language is not an obstacle for him. Therefore teaching a foreign language in schools has gained value these days.

We must acknowledge that, teaching a foreign language to students of secondary school could be more effective as their brains have been the most sharpened as ever so their ability to understand things is more improved. However, at secondary level students are more prone to difficult and advanced subjects so they would feel stumped by the burden of integration of completely new foreign language. Moreover, the growing students adopts more non-serious attitude so it would be better to let them focus only on the subjects related to their opted careers.

On the other hand, primary school students have soft brains that can moulded to the desired aspects. Making them learning a foreign language would be a better option as they are not over burdened with the pressure of studies. Their curiosity of knowing things help them to learn foreign language efficiently. Although, if we limit the learning process to primary level only the foreign language would dwindle from their minds as they would no longer use it.

In conclusion, a foreign language would be more beneficial at primary school level rather than at secondary schools and the more pragmatic approach would be to continue that particular language at higher level so that they would not forget it and it will not put burden on students as the language is not new for them.