1. Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that architectures should design new houses in local places with the same way as houses in the past. In my opinion, however, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint and believe that people should be entitled to build their houses based on their styles.

On the one hand, there is a major factor why we should maintain the structure and styles of old buildings. These structures of homes should be maintained as this helps preserve traditional and cultural values, which has become a part of a country’s heritage. This would link to a positive development that a significant increase in the number of tourists would be clearly seen. For example, coming to Hoi An, a famous city in Vietnam, people can easily identify by old buildings. Local people there are encouraged to maintain their old houses designs. Therefore, it has become a popular holiday destination attracting millions of tourists on an annual basis.

On the other hand, I tend towards the standpoint that architectures should be free to choose their designs. Firstly, people’s rights will be violated if they are forced to build their houses depending on authorities’ policy as they have the right to design their houses and it represents their aesthetic tastes. For instance, they want their houses to be environmentally friendly such as using less energy and less waste as well as making houses more energy-sufficient by utilizing solar and wind power to generate electricity. Another reason I want to mention is the cost, it would be much cheaper to build a simple modern house rather than an old design.

In conclusion, although some people argue that designs of houses nowadays have to follow the past, I personally reckon that owners of the houses should be allowed to decide the styles of their homes.