8/2/2020: The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the technology-driven world, conversations in person are gradually replaced by internet communicating through social apps such as Facebook, Snapchat…, which become a controversial issue. Personally, I believe that the drawbacks these technologies have brought might overshadow their benefits.

In terms of the advantages, social networking sites not only allow us to stay in touch with our loved ones, families and friends but also are places where people can connect, share common interests with anyone from all walks of life. Every day, the internet apps continue to provide new facilities that are immensely convenient, time and money consuming with instant access to an endless supply of knowledge. It is undeniable that social media greatly contributes to life, especially in the Corona situation when people can work and study from home without being affected by viruses.

Sadly enough, social media is also reflecting an uglier side to its existence through a number of problems that it has thrown up for its users. The overuse of these apps causes obesity, short-sightedness, and makes people addicted to their screens all day. Students are likely to neglect their studies due to the appearances of games online, advertisements or even pornographic, inappropriate contents which exert devastating influences on their development. Le Van Luyen, a Vietnamese teenager is a telling example when he was only 17 but had murdered four people caused by the over approaching to prurient, violent images. Moreover, researches have shown that users seem to lose their ability to face-to-face communication with others and even increasingly have depression or xenophobia. Insecurity is also concerned since hackers, cheaters trying to get money and private information from users.

In view of what was mentioned above, social media is substantial nowadays, creates both pros and cons but somehow the disadvantages win out.