The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Animals have the rights to live and move freely like humans in their own habitable environment. Some people think that zoos are helping animals by providing them shelter, while other people hold a contradictory view that zoos are hurting rather than helping animals. This essay will discuss that zoos are hurting animals, and therefore should be banned.

Firstly, animals play an important to maintain the ecological balance in our environment. If these animals are kept in zoos then the natural habitats of these animals are lost and thus affects the whole environment. For instance, animals enjoy moving around in the jungle, hunting their pray and playing with each other. Hence, it is more apparent that animals should be allowed to live in their natural environment.

Secondly, zoos disturb the animal's natural way of living. People not only throw foods but often tease these innocent animals for their own happiness. Animals inside the zoo do not get enough food and are captured in a small space which limits their movements and this will cause them to slowly lose their hunting skills and other survival skills. For instance, those animals which are inside the zoos are often seen either sleeping or resting and do not show enough energy as compared to the animals inside the jungle or their natural habitats. Thus, it is obvious that animals do not prefer zoos.

To conclude, from the above discussion it is undoubtedly clear that animals should be left in their natural habitats instead of limiting them in zoos. Hence, it is evident that zoos are hurting animals instead of helping them.