Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, some countries have been increasing the use of airplanes to import produce, which are out of season or impossible to grow. While diversity of fruit and vegetables is the biggest benefit, the stress on the environment produced by airplanes is an important disadvantage.

One evident benefit to importing fruit and vegetables from other countries is the wide range of products that can be found throughout the year. Colder countries in parts of Northern Europe and North America are now able to sample the delights of the tropics in winter, rather than wait until the summer months. To illustrate, in my local supermarket in Ireland, it is possible to see an extensive variety of exotic products, such as avocados or watermelons, regardless of the time of year.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to transporting these products by airplane. Airplanes produce a huge amount of carbon dioxide, which causes a lot of pollution in the atmosphere and leads to global warming. For example, it is estimated by Green Peace that up to 13,000 tons of CO2 is released into the atmosphere every year by planes carrying foodstuffs from tropical countries. This issue is compounded when you consider that the food needs to be transported from the airport to the shops by trucks, thus increasing the carbon footprint even further.

In conclusion, importing produce from overseas can be very advantageous if it allows people to eat different products, however, it is important to pay attention to the costs in terms of the environment that transport can cause.