The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The well-being of citizens of a country, no doubt, is inextricably linked with the responsiveness and effectiveness of its leaders, meaning that by analyzing the overall prosperity of a nation or state, one can conclude how effective the leaders of that country are. Therefore, I completely agree with the prompt that citizens’ development or prosperity is a parameter of defining leaders’ alacrity and effectiveness.

Undoubtedly, there are many examples of countries that have prominent leaders, while there is a paucity of flourish in those states. However, most of the time it is not the leaders who were responsible for that dearth of prosperity but the intrinsic nature of that state. For example, Bangladesh, a country that was emerged from a nine-month valiant war against the oppressor. The country had some great leaders at that time, but shortly after the independence, it lacks the necessary equipment and facilities to govern the country properly. As a result of that, it was going through a famine and the leaders were helpless. In this case, it would not be wise to make the leaders accountable for the depravity of the nation at that particular time, because after some years they managed to prosper and thanks to the great leader. Other than this particular case or these types of cases, a nation’s prosperity is on par with efficient leadership for a couple of reasons.

First of all, the leaders of a country resemble the navigators of a ship. Hence, it is their duty to determine the right course for their motherland. If the leaders choose wrong path, the citizens must suffer in the long run. Sometimes, imprudent leadership can bring disaster to the neighboring countries too. For example, Adolf Hitler, the German Chancellor unruly attacked neighboring Austria and that brought and world war which cost millions of lives from hundreds of countries all over the world. Shortly after the war, when Germany was defeated, the people of that country had to go through misery. The currency was devaluated to a level where one cannot buy a bottle of water with a million dollars in the pocket and there were no food, and no jobs in the country. As a result, all the people got impoverished and it is only for their precipitate leader.

Secondly, in stark contrast to the previous example, Sweden is one of the few countries that gathered riches despite the terrific economic downgrade caused by the world war. The leaders of the country chose not to join the war and they remained neutral by not supporting any of the conflicting groups. Not only that, but they also acted as a mediator between warring nations and their banks were open for all the countries, they were also engaged in trade and businesses with other countries. And there were no places other than Sweden where any country could cache their resources from being looted, and in return for this favor Sweden amassed an immense fortune that was eventually disbursed to the public. Therefore, the abundance of wealth appropriated by the people of Sweden actually the result of their prudent leaders and their effective measures in times of war.

To sum up, though it might not be good enough to consider the status of citizens of a country to measure the potentiality of its leaders’ efficiency when the country is newly born or becomes independent shortly, but in the long run, it is obviously the well-being of the citizens that reflect the effectiveness of their leaders.