All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some who think that schools should teach children skills. But others believe that having a range of subjects in better for a child’s future.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Moving towards the 21st century, many people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the role of school in teaching children for their development in the future. In fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that skills are well-known to be the best way to assist the children’s development. However, others argue convincingly that studying a range of subjects contribute greatly to children’s life. Therefore, some arguments both for and against this issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, there are two main points for people to defend the former argument school should add a number of essential skills in the curriculum of high school. First of all, it is a well-documented fact that children should be taught three crucial skills, such as communication, problem-solving and teamwork. The most obvious example to prove is that nowadays children or young people having a huge problem with expressing their opinions in the workplace. Furthermore, there is no doubt that scientists proved that skills are considered to be the key to the children’s job when they work in society. For instance, when children become an employee on a team, so they must have teamwork skill to connect with other colleagues.

On the other hand, there are two primary evidences for other people to support the latter argument learning a range of academic subjects, such as Mathematics, History and Foreign Language is the best way to support the children’s living. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that children can earn more money when they are good at a specific profession. A clear example being found to prove is that approximately 70% of students looking for a job in Vietnam after they graduated, but just a minor of this number can find a good job thus they know everything but they also don’t know the detail of one thing. Equally important, there is no denying that the manufacturing industry needs more engineers that they are a good quality person to control the new technology.

All things considered, it is my strongly belief that skills and academic subjects are so important for the children’s future. Accordingly, I strongly recommend the governments should enhance people’s awareness in terms of the role of school in teaching and what things are schools should be teaching. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our future generations will be ensured.