The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

Human interventions have caused the extinction of several marine and land-based creatures. Personally, I think that industrialization and urbanization are major culprits for this worrying phenomenon. However, there are possible solutions to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, several human activities could threaten animal existence. Firstly, practices related to production processes like exploiting natural resources and manufacturing consumable products could release tons of detrimental gases and wastewater, which pollute the surrounding environment and force wild animals to leave their natural habitats. Moreover, the massive worldwide deforestation to make way for industrial areas has severely damaged the living of animals on land as it destroys their food sources and living spaces. Besides, the unprecedented urbanization in many developing countries like China has created tons of wastewater, which tends to be discharged into the oceans, and has killed millions of sea creatures, thus causing their disappearances.

On the other hand, several measures could be applied to alleviate negative impacts of human activities on wildlife. For instance, establishing national conservation areas has been proven to be effective in protecting wild animals in many nations as specific protection laws enforced in these places can prevent most human interventions with the Cuc Phuong National Park in Vietnam being a telling example. Another solution is introducing eco-friendly industrial practices such as using renewable energy sources and alternative materials for production. For example, the car industry in China has started focusing on electric cars after decades of producing cars running on gasoline, which have reduced the amount of waste created significantly.

In conclusion, although several practices conducted by humans have posed threats to the existence of land and sea species, there are plausible methods that governments and businesses could apply to prevent this problem.