animal testing

Perhaps no subject in moral society is as controversial as animal-based experiments. While many people criticize animal testings and believe they merit humane treatment, I am of the opinion that these tests are essential to the well-being of both human beings and that of animals.

First of all, there is little doubt that many experiments make huge contributions to the technology development and to date, there is little chance of finding a satisfying substitution. Indeed, animals are often used mainly since they bear a striking resemblance to humans, either in cell structure or in behaviors. To be more specific, they respond to the external disturbances such as electrical shock in the same manner as humans do. As a result, these tests become the main approach to anticipate risks when new products or drugs are prepared as medicine to be used on humans.

In addition, another fact supports animal-based experiments is that animals are not equivalent to humans and they can be utilized as resources for humans' sake purposes. Obviously, animals have no capacity to consider rights and interests of other species, which is the reason why they feed on each other. Humans, on the other hand, conduct animal testings not only for their own sake but also for the benefits of other species. For instance, multiple medical achievements are applied in veterinary surgeries to give medical treatment and medicine to sick animals.

Despite the justification given for vivisection, scientists have obligations to reduce animal testings as well as animal suffering. In fact, there is a growing recognition that the majority of these tests are being exploited for commercial purposes. For example, the cosmetic industry is diversifying products and maximizing profits by slaughtering numerous animals. However, this circumstance can be ceased only if scientists do not abuse their power by conducting cruel experiments for unessential objectives.

In summary, one can subscribe to the notion that animals are resources intended for human purposes, although meanwhile it is certain that suffering should be controlled to the minimum during experimentation.